Tips to incorporate rest & relaxation into your daily routine!

In all of your getting .. get REST!

Let’s just face it, life as we know it and live it for the majority of us is unhealthy. The constant hustle, the endless grind, the fast food. Think about it, when our to-do lists seem longer than our day allows, what’s the first thing to go? Rest. We live in an age where we pride ourselves in sleepless nights. I remember years ago, someone asked, “How do you do it all?” and I proudly responded, “I don’t sleep much!”  

Rest is not optional and here are 12 reasons why:
https://deltadiscoverycenter.com/benefits-importance-rest-sleep-relationship-between-sleep-stress/

Lack of sleep is associated with numerous mental, physical, and emotional consequences.  Today, if that same woman were to come to me and ask, “how do you do it all?” (because I still do “it all”, I just do all of it wisely.) I’d respond differently.

Prayerfully this response will help and encourage you:

  • I PRIORITIZE. Each morning I decide on my top 3. The keyword here is 3 Not 20. Don’t set yourself up for failure. Choose realistic, obtainable goals, this alone will boost your confidence and self-esteem.
  • I STRATEGIZE. I’ve made a decision, now I develop a plan to enforce it. I usually write-out my day on my calendar, now I can see what I’m doing when I’m doing it. Once I know what I’m doing, I feel empowered and fully equipped to say NO!!! I know if and/or where last-minute requests can be placed.  I can now use phrases like, “Sure, I’m available during this time” and “I’m sorry, I can’t meet today, can we chat tomorrow morning?” Oftentimes, failure to complete our top 3 is the result of failure to plan.  
  • I DEPRESSURIZE. Whelp, this may seem like I’m undoing all of my above efforts, but it’s my truth and I hope it will set you free. After I complete step one and two, I encourage myself via scripture, positive affirmations, prayer, and meditation. Then I give it all over to God. I inevitably won’t be able to control every moment of my day. My type A / DISC – S personality can cause me to hold tight to my plan, but I had to learn to remain flexible.  So I relieve myself of the pressure to perform, meet every expectation, and accomplish every goal IN THIS ONE DAY! I can rest in knowing that I’ll give it my best shot, but at the end of each day, before I allow myself to feel like a failure, I remind myself that, “I gave today my best shot and God willing, there is another opportunity to complete what was left incomplete tomorrow.  

Life has taught me that completion of my daily list and my desire to please others, can not come at the cost of my health, my peace (powerfully defined as freedom from disturbance; tranquility. A state or period in which there is no war or a war has ended), my rest!

Oh and lastly, don’t forget to incorporate a “precious moment” into to your top 3. You should encounter/prioritize/plan for a “precious moment” (dinner with your family, self-care, disconnect from work and social media) daily.  

Remember, YOU MATTER. Feeling tired is a warning sign, not a weakness. The ability to choose rest, shows self-discipline, great restraint, and supports self-love. Loss of rest is not an option. You can’t love anyone else until you first love and care for yourself.

Remember I love you, but YOU should love YOU More!

❤️🤟🏾🥰

-Gwen

Leave a comment