What’s in a name?

My boy walks past my cup of coffee, reads the scripture on the rim, then looks at me and says, “Hey that cup has my name on it!”

My Response: It sure does son and what a powerful name it is!

Funny story! My husband, was extremely particular about our children’s names. I was interested in cuteness, flow, and the most adorable nickname. He was fixed on meaning and what we were speaking over their lives everytime we called their names! He doesn’t often put up a fight, but he believed in the power of a name! He said he WOULD NOT call his children, “just anything.” He stood his ground on this one!

Our children were nameless in the womb for months. I threw out hundreds of naming options, even assembled a committee to help me find the perfect name. He shot down 99.8% of my suggestions.

We finally settled on the names:

Alyssa (Rational/Noble) Christine (Christian) Jones

Joshua (God is Deliverer) Christian (follower of Christ) Jones.

From a young age, he taught our children what their names meant and encourages them to remember who they are when faced with adversity!

Their names are the mantras they live by. The divine standard preset for their lives before they took their first breath! The mantles they must carry as they carry our last name, JONES.

WeRJones isn’t grammatically correct, but it IS who we are!

It sets the boundaries for what we do, what we say, how we carry ourselves and the arenas we find ourselves in.

It’s not a cliche insinuating that others keep up, it’s a standard that we as a family must uphold!

“The name equips for the position”
-Alfonzo D. Jones II

What’s in a name?
Purpose, Power … EVERYTHING!

Alfonzo (Prepared for battle), Gwendolyn (Blessed Ring), Alyssa (Noble/Rational) & Joshua (God Delivers/Chosen Leader)

WeRJones – Commissioned to bring Joy, Light & Life to all that we encounter.

Leave a comment