The Heart of A Child

I just had a conversation with my kids! Wanted them to hear the news from me first! I told them who our new president is and their little hearts were troubled! Despite my personal feelings, this was a time to teach and train them. So I took a deep breath and told them our family truth:

1) We trust God not man! God is in control and his word says that he will guide and protect us, we are not to walk in fear, but remain confident in our God.

2) Our next leader is now chosen:

A) We will respect his position

B) We will pray for Mr. Trump

C) We will NOT engage in negative conversations concerning our new president.

D) Outside of the walls of this house, we will keep our words and our thoughts to ourselves.

We all took a deep breath together, I reminded me that they can always share their truth with me and I asked them if they had thoughts or feelings they wanted to share. Lyss says, “But Mommy, we don’t know what he’s going to do” and I reminder her that although there is much truth in her words, we follow and trust in God not man!  God is our source and our protector and it is God that is truly in control of this world.  

She said ok, and I sent her off to school.  I went into this conversation, hoping to prepare them for their day, who knew that’s what I needed to prepare me!  

So now I must practice what I’ve preached:

Congratulations President Trump, My family will be praying for you as you lead America!

 

Leave a comment