Celebrate YOU! 


Anyone that knows me knows that I LOVE BIRTHDAYS!!! I begin to plan my birthday months in advance, I talk about it all the time, when the day finally arrives I’m flooded with birthday love from all those important to me.  

I may get a few rolled eyes and some heavy breathing at the constant mention of my special day, but no one EVER forgets my birthday.  Why, becuase I don’t allow them to! 

Here’s my point, IF YOU DO NOT CELEBRATE YOU NO ONE ELSE WILL!  If there is something happening in your life that’s important to you and you haven’t mentioned it to anyone around you, don’t be upset when the day comes and no one remembers. 

As I always say, YOU ARE IMPORTANT, YOU MATTER! Celebrate others, but don’t forget to celebrate you!  I have random “Gwen Days” throughout the year where I just treat myself to whatever I want to.  I’ll take the day off work and enjoy being in my space and not having to consider anyone else.  Even if it’s only for a few hours, it’s my time to do whatever it is that I want to do!  It makes a difference in my attitude, lowers my level of  frustration and irritation, increases my energy level, and supports my ability to listen and pour into others.  I’m a better wife, friend and mother when I take a moment to celebrate me! 


You can’t keep pouring into others without refilling your own cup! So plan your day off, find 30 minutes to just do whatever it is you want to do.  If you need to, put the kids to bed early, sit in your PJs, in your own bed, right by yourself and enjoy! You deserve it!  

And when it’s your birthday .. don’t let anyone forget!  You are not a shadow! It’s your time to SHINE! And you know what, IT’S OK FOR YOU TO SHINE! 

So Shine On Sista!  I’m excited for you!  

Leave a comment