A tribute to Path Creators

I went to see the movie “Hidden Figures” today, I was both convicted and inspired! I didn’t live through segregation and I take so much for granted. The freedom to choose where I pursue my education, the ability to use a bathroom based on my gender and not the color of my skin and the choice to become whomever I choose to, regardless of my gender or ethnicity. There are hero’s that sacrificed their lives to make these luxuries available to my generation. There are so many opportunities available to us now that we have yet to take advantage of, when there are people that endured so much to make them available to us.

 After watching the strength, patience, perseverance & tenacity of the women displayed in this movie, I thought, WOW THESE ARE MY ROOTS, and I walked out of that theater with my head held high. Then I thought, what path am I creating for future generations to walk upon? We have a responsibility to ensure that our next generation has even more opportunities than we have today. This shouldn’t be a problem, we have excellent examples to follow. 


 So today, I appreciate those that created the path that gave me a chance, by setting the standard and fulfilling my obligation to those coming behind me. It’s a huge responsibility that I do not take for granted! So work hard. Pave the way .. the next generation is counting on US!

Leave a comment