Preserving Our Culture

Random thought đź’­:

Watching “homecoming” with my kids! They don’t know anything about our black national anthem “lift every voice and sing!” I AM FAILING AS A PARENT!!!! How did my parents instill it in me? I certainly didn’t get it from our educational system!!! I’m dumbfounded!! Now that I’m thinking about it, it was the hymns we sang in church growing up! Hymns like these were embedded into our Sunday Services!!! The mothers took us under their wings, our sunday school classes, our youth ministries. I just remember the church being the village!!!!! They made sure we knew about our God & our ROOTS!!! Having a moment, but I’ve gotta do better!!!!Our culture is soooo rich! My kids will know of it!!!!! Time to go back to the basics!

(P.S. I’m watching this WITH my children because although the culture, the power of SHE and how STRONG, creative, and freaking AMAZING we can be as a collective is flawlessly displayed in this production, I’m right here to talk them through the less desirable moments and answer all questions ✊🏽)

Leave a comment