Purpose for Approval? Not an even trade! Identifying Approval Seeking Behaviors.

What do you trade daily for approval? Your time? Your ideas? Your Voice? Your talent? In Grief Recovery, I teach clients about a concept we call “Approval seeking behaviors.” Approval seeking is dangerous as it can be life limiting and purpose killers. We all have them, some we’re aware of some we aren’t.

For me it was makeup 💄! There was a time where I would never leave my house without a full face! What if I saw someone while my face was bare, What would they think? I hated having to present myself as flawless due to fear of rejection if anyone saw the natural me! But I did it for years!

Again I ask, what are you trading for the approval of others? Don’t think you have any approval seeking behaviors? Finish these sentences, “I can’t leave the house without ….”, “I don’t …”, “I’d love to …”, “I have really good ideas …” Answer these questions honestly then write out your why? Why don’t you share your ideas? Why don’t you speak up? Why don’t you show up as your authentic self? Why aren’t you doing what you love? Once you understand your why, you’ll identify areas in which you seek approval!

If you’ve discovered that you’re probably employee of the year at “Trade it.” No worries, this is awesome and I’m beyond excited for you! Why? Because now that you’re aware you can adjust!

Stop adapting and start becoming, it’s your time!

Leave a comment