Count the Cost

So this year I finally said ENOUGH!

I’ve decided to face a giant! A trap that causes me to commit financial suicide time and time again! A chain that’s had me bound for years. I cringe as I type and thus agree to this commitment publicly but desperate times call for desperate measures!

What is my strange addiction you ask? I confess confidently yet shamefully, it’s SHOPPING! Unfortunately, shopping isn’t even my issue. My addiction is rooted in my need to meet nonexistent expectations. Sadly, my confidence is tied to my attire/presentation and it’s not ok! After much self evaluation a second reason I lose to this giant almost daily is impulse! I don’t need it, but when I see it (especially on clearance 👀) I have to have it!

In order to beat this giant and break this chain I need four things:
1) A strategy – hence the graphic. This is a battle of the mind. It begins with a mental shift. I commit to measuring each purchase by this ruler!
2) An accountability partner. One that I’ve given permission to, “Check Me.” One that’s agreed to accept the responsibility of taming my admitted irresponsible behavior at all costs.
3) A memoir. Something to remind me of what my failure to adhere to this commitment will cost me! I’ll put this on my phone, I’ll see it daily on my desk at work. A reminder of what an unnecessary $10 purchase is really costing me: my goals, my dreams, my financial freedom!
4) A reward system! Maybe every time I say, “no” to a purchase I put $1 in an envelope. After 20 “no’s” I will have earned one $20 purchase! Maybe I give the envelop to my accountability partner and when I’ve reached the goal they allow me the cash to make the purchase?

Whatever I do, I’ve got to start somewhere!

Accountability is everything, if you struggle in this area and are interested in a virtual support group inbox me or comment “Me.” I don’t have all of the answers but I have access to useful financial rescources and I am a firm believer that there is power in numbers and we are stronger together ✊🏽!

It’ll be hard, it will certainly be inconvenient, BUT WHEN WE CELEBRATE IN 2021, IT WILL BE TOTALLY WORTH IT!

Let’s slay this giant and break the generational curse of poverty. Once we master it, we can teach our children and prayerfully as it states in Luke 14:28, they’ll count the cost!

Leave a comment